“The Good Guy” by Kelsy

Going along with Valentine’s Day we picked the movie The Good Guy. It was one chick-flick that all of us haven’t seen. I had once again never heard of this movie. I am a lady and super fond of chick flicks so I was confident that I would like it.

I must say the movie was a little slow. I immediately recognized Alexis Bledel from Gilmore Girl’s. Which I absolutely love her in. I also recognized the leading men in the movie as well. The movie is set in New York City. The main characters are Tommy (Scott Porter), Beth (Alexis Bledel) and Daniel(Bryan Greenberg). Beth and Tommy are a couple and Tommy and Daniel work together. Tommy tries to help Daniel with his career and personality. They are complete opposites. The story takes a twist when Daniel meets Beth.

I have to say that I maybe a little cynical. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Yes there was some heartbreak and some betrayal but that is life. I feel too often every chick flick I watch the bad guy isn’t portrayed to be a true scum. The Good Guy proves this wrong. You get to see what happens when a guy is a complete jerk. I think girls tend to be really stupid and believe everything in movies. The cheater won’t ever cheat again or he beats me because he loves me. NONE of that is remotely true. I enjoyed this movie because it was believable. Guys will be guys. There was chemistry between the characters and life hit some people in the face. I am also known to be a sucker for a good love story and I also got that in this movie.

The Good Guy gets a 6 in my book. I would totally recommend it to someone who is looking for a different type of love story. There is love there is heartbreak there is betrayal. I enjoyed it the whole time. There was a couple parts where I laughed allowed. But most of all it was real to me and somewhat predictable. So if you are looking for a mediocre flick to watch with your significant other on Valentine’s and you want to stay in, I recommend it to you.

-Kelsy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment