“The Good Guy” By Derrick

With Valentine’s Day around the corner my group and I decided to watch a chick flick movie this week called “The Good Guy.” So I was expecting this romantic comedy to be just like any other chick flick movie but I found out quickly that this was not the case.

The movie started off with a Wall Street scene where Tommy (Scott Porter) lost a key member of his sales team and decided to take a chance hiring Daniel (Bryan Greenberg).  Daniel is the type of guy that doesn’t have a whole lot of experience in the large finance world or even have the way with the ladies, let alone be able to talk to them.  Tommy takes Daniel under his wing and shows him how to dress, socialize, and talk to attractive women. Tommy himself has an attractive girlfriend, Beth (Alexis Bledel) which many may know her from “Gilmore Girls.”  The movie continues on and doesn’t really have a good plot.  It jumps back and forth between the work scene and the personal relationship life and you’re left to wonder what the purpose of the movie is.  It ends up being too cliché where the boyfriend does something stupid and the girl no longer wants anything to do with him.  This is where Daniel comes to the rescue since he had developed a friendship with Beth, joining her book club and becoming the “good guy.” It was nice seeing that nice guys don’t finish last all the time.

Looking back on this movie it wasn’t really that funny.  I mean there were some parts that gave me a chuckle but not any more that a comedy should give me.  It was a different kind of chick flick movie in that usually the guy screws up and they end up getting back together at the end.  This did not happen but I saw this particular ending coming.  To me a good romantic comedy movie would have to be “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.”  Matthew McConaughey and Kate Hudson work so well together, but these duo (Tommy and Beth) characters were too dull. I would give this a movie a 5 out of 10. I still enjoyed the movie and I’m sure many chick flick lovers would too, but it definitely isn’t your typical kind of movie.

Derrick

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment